DM honors 14 DOE scientists

Some 200 AES employees gathered in the Downsview Auditorium in October to watch deputy minister Jacques Gérin bestow Merit Award Certificates on 14 DOE scientists. Included were six AES scientists and the entire group were honored for their work on the Canada-U.S. Work Group TWO study under the Memorandum of Intent on Transboundary Air Pollution.

In his remarks to the audience, Mr. Gérin said that the awards celebrated the achievements of people who had worked very hard to attain a consensus on acid rain in Canada before dealing with the question on a Canada-U.S. basis. "The strategy adopted covered all angles of the problem and the approach certainly paid off," added Mr. Gérin.

In general the DM urged DOE staff to move cautiously in administering the content of the Environmental Acts for which the department is responsible.

The awards were a rare opportunity for Mr. Gérin to give recognition to DOE personnel on a department-wide basis. Non-AES recipients included Daryl Cowell, Ontario regional director general's office; Dr. lan Morrison, Canadian Forestry Service; Floyd Elder, Environment Conservation Service; Frank Vena, Environment Protection Service; Roger Lafleur, Energy, Mines & Resources.

Mr. Gérin's Downsview schedule also included a meeting with directors general and other senior executives in the board

(cont'd on page 4)

(cont'd from page 2)

room and a wine and cheese party in honor of the award winners.



Shown with Mr. Gérin in the photo below are six AES recipients of the merit awards. (From left to right): Dr. Rod Shaw, head, Federal LRTAP Liaison Office; Howard Ferguson, director general Canadian Climate Centre; Dr. Peter Summers, Air Quality Branch; Dr. Jim Young, director, Air Quality Branch; Marvin Olson, head, Atmospheric Dispersion Division, Mr. Gérin and Dr. Doug Whelpdale, research scientiss, Atmospheric Dispersion Division.