Presentation of 2017 International Meteorological Organization (IMO) Prize To Gordon McBean, Geneva 2018

l - r: David Grimes (1), Pat McBean, Gordon McBean, Rosemary McCarney (3)

l - r: Petteri Taalas (2), David Grimes (1), Gordon McBean, Rosemary McCarney (3)
(1)  President of WMO
Secretary-General of WMO
3) Canada's Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations in Geneva

The IMO Prize is awarded annually to individuals for outstanding work in the field of meteorology or in any other field referred to in Article 2 of the WMO Convention.  The IMO Prize consists of: A 14-carat gold medal 57 mm in diameter. It bears on one side the official WMO emblem and on the other side the Latin inscription Pro singulari erga scientiam meteorologicam merito; a monetary award of SFR 10 000; and a parchment scroll.

Please go to:
for a complete list of IMO Prizewinners, which includes only five

Return to Index