Presentation of International Meteorological Organization (IMO) Prize, Downsview 1994

left to right:  Dr. GOP Obasi (Secretary-General, WMO) (Presenter), Zou Jingmeng (China), Dr. James (Jim) P Bruce.

Citation (in part) reads:  "In recognition of his exceptional world wide contributions and accomplishments in the fields of meteorology and hydrology, playing a pivotal role in focusing the attention of the decision-makers and planners on the potential effects of climate and atmospheric changes, providing crucial direction in developing a strategic plan for Technical Cooperation in meteorology and hydrology, and leading the development of the U. N. International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction."

The IMO Prize is awarded annually to individuals for outstanding work in the field of meteorology or in any other field referred to in Article 2 of the WMO Convention.  The IMO Prize consists of: A 14-carat gold medal 57 mm in diameter. It bears on one side the official WMO emblem and on the other side the Latin inscription Pro singulari erga scientiam meteorologicam merito; a monetary award of SFR 10 000; and a parchment scroll.

Please go to:
for a complete list of IMO Prizewinners, which includes only five Canadians.

Return to Index