MOC Graduates have a "rosy future"

Addressing an audience of Meteorologist Operational Course (MOC 8) graduates, instructors, weather service personnel, parents and colleagues in the AES Downsview Auditorium, ADMA Howard Ferguson said that human resources at AES were one constant factor in a world of rapid technological change.

Mr. Ferguson estimated that there would be at least as many technical innovations in the weather service during the next decade as there had to be over the past 10 years. Despite a trend to greater automation within the service, Mr. Ferguson predicted that meteorologists would have greater opportunities to deal with people as professional advisors in the future. They will also be encouraged to broaden their interests into such fields as air quality and climate change, (requiring a knowledge of chemistry) and responding to environmental emergencies.

Describing the future of young meteorologists as "rosy", ADMA told the MOC graduates that developing their expertise in operational meteorology was a challenge and would form a sound basis for their future careers in atmospheric sciences.

Referring to his own career, Mr. Ferguson said that he too had started as a duty forecaster and had never anticipated that over the years that he would get into so many different facets of meteorology.

Other speakers at the ceremony included Jim Alexander, chief of the Professional Training Division, Anne O'Toole, head, Professional Training Section and Tom Robinson (on behalf of the graduates).

Following Mr. Ferguson's presentation of certificates to each graduate Anne O'Toole presented the James Percy Award to Peter Schwarzhoff for outstanding work in synoptic meteorology.



The MOC 8 graduates (place of recruitment in parenthesis) are seen left to right, front row: Peter Schwarzhoff (Edmonton, Alberta), Kelly Lawrence (Halifax, Nova Scotia), Tom Robinson (Hamilton, Ontario), Joanne Pottier (Montreal, Quebec), Randy Cripps (Edmonton), Alister Ling (London, Ontario), Beverly Trefan (Edmonton), Carmen Old (Edmonton, Alberta); back row: Mark Pilon (Hamilton), Edmond Chan (Vancouver, British Columbia), Randy Petersen (Victoria, British Columbia), Karl Pavasars (Toronto, Ontario), Keith Ayotte (Vancouver), Nils Ek (Edmonton), Kathleen Lawrynuik (London, Ontario).