1999 Prizewinners / Lauréats des Prix, 1999

(Awarded at the 34th CMOS Annual Congress, Victoria BC 29 May - 2 June, 2000)

President's Prize / Prix du président

To Alex Hay

To William Hsieh

J.P. Tully Medal in Oceanography
Médaille J.P. Tully en océanographie

not awarded for 1999

Andrew Thomson Prize in Applied Meteorology
Prix Andrew Thomson en météorologie appliquée

Prize in Applied Oceanography
Prix en océanographie appliquée

not awarded for 1999

Rube Hornstein Medal In Operational Meteorology
Médaille Rube Hornstein en météorologie opérationnelle

(Until 1996: Rube Hornstein Prize in Operational Meteorology / jusqu'à 1996, Prix de météorologie opérationnelle Rube Hornstein)

not awarded for 1999

Tertia M.C. Hughes Memorial Prize
Prix commémoratif Tertia M.C. Hughes

To Zhaomin Wang, McGill University

To Brian May, Dalhousie University


To Henry Janzen, Ray Desjardins, Richard Asselin and Barry Grace

The CMOS - Weather Research House Scholarship Supplement
Supplément  SCMO - Weather Research House aux bourses d'études supérieures

To Tetjana A. Ross

CMOS Fellows Announced

R. E. (Ted) Munn  for major contributions to environmental and atmospheric science, particularly as editor and founder of the journal "Boundary Layer Meteorology" / pour ses contributions importantes aux sciences de l'environnement et de l'atmosphère et, en particulier, comme fondateur et éditeur du journal "Boundary Layer Meteorology".

Gordon A. McBean for providing dynamic leadership to the science of climate and climate change, and to meteorology as a whole, at the national and international levels / pour son leadership dynamique en sciences du climat et du changement du climat et en météorologie, aux échelons national et international.

Paul H. LeBlond for important contributions to the science and teaching of oceanography and for co-authoring the book "Waves in the Ocean" / pour ses contributions importantes à la science et à l'enseignement de l'océanographie et pour son livre (co-auteur) "Waves in the Ocean".

Jacques F. Derome for making major contributions to atmospheric dynamics research and the energetics of low frequency atmospheric systems / pour ses contributions importantes à la recherche sur la dynamique de l'atmosphère et l'énergétique des systèmes atmosphériques de basse fréquence.

MSC Patterson Medal Winners

James R. Drummond & Peter H. Schuepp
Homepage / Page d'accueil