1998 Prizewinners / Lauréats des Prix 1998

(Awarded at the 33rd CMOS Annual Congress, Montreal QC - 31 May to 4 June, 1999)

President's Prize / Prix du président

To:  Isztar Zawadzki

J.P. Tully Medal in Oceanography
Médaille J.P. Tully en océanographie

To:  Neil Oakey

Andrew Thomson Prize in Applied Meteorology
Prix Andrew Thomson en météorologie appliquée

To:  Robert Benoit

Prize in Applied Oceanography
Prix en océanographie appliquée

To:  Peter Smith, David Greenberg, Don Lawrence, Guoqi Han, Jennifer Shore, John Loder, Charles Hannah, R. Pettipas, B. de Tracey for joint contributions in providing daily forecasts of drift and ocean currents during the Swiss Air Flight 111 recovery operations.

Rube Hornstein Medal In Operational Meteorology
Médaille Rube Hornstein en météorologie opérationnelle

(Until 1996: Rube Hornstein Prize in Operational Meteorology / jusqu'à 1996, Prix de météorologie opérationnelle Rube Hornstein)


To:  Richard Scott, Keith McCaul, Bill Beveridge and Mohamed Alkoka, Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton

The CMOS - Weather Research House Scholarship Supplement
Supplément  SCMO - Weather Research House aux bourses d'études supérieures

To:  Steven  Stringer

1999 CMOS Fellows Announced

Peter Taylor for services to meteorology in Canada as researcher and educator and internationally as editor and facilitator /  Pour services à la météorologie au Canada en tant que chercheur, éducateur, et en tant que facilitateur et éditeur à l'échelon international.

David Phillips for outstanding service in communicating and interpreting weather and climate information to Canadians through the electronic and print media. / Pour services exceptionnels relatifs à la communication et à l'interprétation de la météo et du climat aux canadiens dans la presse écrite et les médias électroniques.

Lawrence Mysak for contributions to our knowledge of the oceans, sea ice and climate as researcher, teacher and supervisor, and for leadership in the Canadian science community. / Pour ses contributions à la connaissance des océans, de la glace de mer et du climat en tant que chercheur et professeur, et pour son leadership au sein de la communauté scientifique canadienne.

Philip Merilees for research leadership in the atmospheric sciences and the contributions to advancing numerical weather prediction. / Pour son leadership en sciences atmosphériques et ses contributions à l'avancement de la prévision numérique du temps.

1998 MSC Patterson Medal Winner

Peter Taylor

Homepage / Page d'accueil