2003 Prizewinners / Lauréats des prix, 2003

(Awarded at the 38th CMOS Annual Congress, Edmonton AB, May 31 - June 3, 2004)

President’s Prize / Prix du président

To: Thomas Andrew Black, University of British Columbia, Faculty of Agricultural Science, Department of Soil Science, for his important contributions to forest biometeorology and microclimatology, as lead author, in his paper, entitled Ecophysiological controls on the carbon balances of three southern boreal forests published in Agricultural and Forest Meteorology, 117: 53-71, 2003

J.P. Tully Medal in Oceanography / Médaille J.P. Tully en océanographie

To: Richard E. Thomson, Institute of Ocean Sciences, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Sidney, BC, for his many distinguished contributions to physical oceanography and his highly appreciated books entitled Oceanography of the British Columbia Coast" and "Data Analysis Methods in Physical Oceanography.

Andrew Thomson Prize in Applied Meteorology / Prix Andrew Thomson en météorologie appliquée

To: Ron Hopkinson, Meteorological Service of Canada, Regina, SK, for his outstanding improvements to climatological applications of meteorological and hydrological data in addressing Canadian environmental concerns, and for sharing his knowledge and expertise with others for the benefit of scientific research in Canada.

Prize in Applied Oceanography / Prix en océanographie appliquée

To: Richard A. Pawlowicz, Department of Earth and Ocean Sciences, University of British Columbia, for his outstanding contributions to the application of oceanography in Canada and abroad through the development, and free distribution, of state-of-the-art software packages for tidal analysis, spatial mapping, and air-sea flux calculations.

Rube Hornstein Medal In Operational Meteorology / Médaille Rube Hornstein en météorologie opérationnelle

(Until 1996: Rube Hornstein Prize in Operational Meteorology /
jusqu'à 1996, Prix de météorologie opérationnelle Rube Hornstein)

To: Michael Schaffer, Prairie Aviation and Arctic Weather Centre, Edmonton, AB for his pioneering work in marine wind forecasting and his data visualization methods for winds, which have been adopted by forecasters across Canada.

Tertia M. C. Hughes Memorial Graduate Student Prize / Prix commémoratif Tertia M.C. Hughes

To: Jian Lu, Department of Physics and Oceanography, Dalhousie University for his insightful contributions to our understanding of the dynamics of 20th century climate change and, in particular, his publications and PhD thesis on the recent eastward shift of the North Atlantic Oscillation. Accepting on his behalf is Dr. Jinyu Sheng, Dalhousie University. Jian Lu is now pursuing further studies at the Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, Princeton University.

Campbell Scientific Best Student Poster Prize / Prix Campbell Scientific de la meilleure affiche d'étudiant(e)

To: Daniel Figueras-Nieto, Eric Girard and Lucia Crãciun for their poster The Parameterization of Ice Crystals Heterogeneous Nucleation in Climate Models: Comparison with Observations Taken During SHEBA.

(Two awarded for 2003)

To: Paul-André Bolduc, Editor of the CMOS Bulletin SCMO for his leadership in revitalizing the CMOS Bulletin SCMO and making it a well-established and well-regarded publication that is used as the principal means of communication for CMOS members.

To: Claire Martin, Global TV Edmonton AB, radio and television presenter who, for years, has shown outstanding skills in bringing day-to-day weather and its impacts to people in a clear, simple and entertaining manner.

Achievement Award / Honneur d'accomplissement

To: Neil J. Campbell for his many years of voluntary service to CMOS.

The CMOS - Weather Research House Scholarship Supplement/
Supplément  SCMO - Weather Research House aux bourses d'études supérieures

To: Tiffany Shaw, Department of Earth and Ocean Sciences, UBC, who is planning to continue her studies at U of T with Ted Shepherd under whom she will be investigating problems in theoretical atmospheric dynamics. This scholarship is valued at $10,000 if held for two years.

The CMOS - Weather Network / Météomédia Scholarship
La bourse SCMO - Météomédia / The Weather Network

To: Angela Colebrook, York University, Toronto, ON

  Undergraduate Scholarships / Bourses d'études de premier cycle

1) Pamela Fairbridge, York University

2) Jill Maepea, Dalhousie University

  Fellows Announced / Nouveaux Membres émérites

1) Charles A. Lin, Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, McGill University, in recognition of his long-standing service to the meteorological community in teaching, research, editing and serving on and with many scientific organizations in Canada and abroad.

2) George J. Boer, Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis, Meteorological Service of Canada, in recognition of his long-standing contributions and international reputation in climate research and pioneer work in Canadian global modelling.

3) Susan K. Woodbury, Consultant, in recognition of her dedication, commitment and contribution to the development of the private meteorological and oceanographic sector in Canada, and her dedicated services to CMOS over many years.

4) James P. Bruce, Consultant, in recognition of his long-standing research in hydrometeorology, climatology, and contributions to Canadian and international meteorological science and service.

2003 MSC Patterson Medal /
SMC La medaille Patterson 2003

Hal Ritchie received the Patterson Medal Award for distinguished service to Meteorology in Canada. The medal was established in 1946 in honour of Dr. John Patterson, Controller of the Meteorological Service of Canada from 1929 to 1946.

Homepage / Page d'accueil