2001 Prizewinners / Lauréats des prix, 2001

(Awarded at the 36th CMOS Annual Congress, Rimouski, QC May 22 - 26, 2002)

President’s Prize / Prix du président

To Peter Yau for his outstanding scientific contributions to our understanding of the physics and dynamics of clouds and their effects on larger-scale systems, the training of graduate students, and specifically for his recent research on hurricane diagnostics as exemplified by the paper "Spiral Bands in a Simulated Hurricane: Part 1. Vortex Rossby Wave Verifications" published in 2001 in The Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences, 58, 2128-2145.

J.P. Tully Medal in Oceanography /

Médaille J.P. Tully en océanographie

To R. Allyn Clarke for his outstanding commitment to Canadian oceanography, his pioneering work on deep convection in the Labrador Sea, and his national and international leadership in ocean and climate scientific research.

Andrew Thomson Prize in Applied Meteorology /

Prix Andrew Thomson en météorologie appliquée

To Michel Jean for his role in the development of real-time applications of Numerical Weather Prediction (NWP) and numerical modelling to the transport and dispersion of volcanic ash plumes and responses to nuclear and environmental emergencies, and for his outstanding contribution on the use of NWP and dispersion models to assess the performance and sensitivity of a global atmospheric radioactivity network for the United Nations Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organization.

Prize in Applied Oceanography /

Prix en océanographie appliquée

Not awarded for 2001

Rube Hornstein Medal In Operational Meteorology /

Médaille Rube Hornstein en météorologie opérationnelle

(Until 1996: Rube Hornstein Prize in Operational Meteorology /

jusqu'à 1996, Prix de météorologie opérationnelle Rube Hornstein)

To Phillip Chadwick for his leadership in the hands-on application of scientific principles in operational meteorology in Canada and for providing creative ways to communicate how meteorology impacts the lives of Canadians in all walks of life.

Tertia M. C. Hughes Memorial Graduate Student Prize /
Prix commémoratif Tertia M.C. Hughes

Two awarded for 2001

To Masakazu Yoshimori for his exceptional contributions to Milankovitch-scale climate research that were carried out at the University of Victoria as part of his doctoral thesis entitled "Modelling Studies of Glacial-interglacial Transitions" involving numerical simulations into the possible causes and mechanisms of glacial inception and termination.

To Youmin Tang for his outstanding contributions to decadal-scale climate research that were carried out at the University of British Columbia as part of his doctoral studies entitled "ENSO Simulation and Prediction using Hybrid Coupled Models with Data Assimilation" involving numerical modelling of equatorial ENSO regimes and application of neural networks.

Campbell Scientific Best Student Poster Prize /

Prix Campbell Scientific de la meilleure affiche d'étudiant(e)

To: Bernard Firanski (Earth and Space Science, York University)


Two awarded for 2001

To Peter Calamai for increasing public awareness on global climate issues and for promoting environmental stewardship through a series of highly reputable, high quality and informative articles in the Toronto Star.

To Eldon Oja for his outstanding leadership as chair of the CMOS School and Public Education Committee, his exceptional work on Project Atmosphere Canada, and for enthusiasm and energy in promoting science in schools.

The CMOS - Weather Research House Scholarship Supplement/

Supplément  SCMO - Weather Research House aux bourses d'études supérieures

First year Scholarship

To Amanda Cole, a doctorate student studying at University of California, Berkley CA.  Amanda is studying under Dr. Kristie Boering, a world expert on the use of in-situ chemical measurements to infer transport properties of the stratosphere.  Ms. Cole will be conducting her research on oxygen isotropic composition of ozone and carbon dioxide.  She is a graduate of McGill University, and her home is Barrie, ON.  She was the successful recipient from 43 applicants, all of whom were NSERC scholars.

Second Year Scholarship

To Ronald McTaggart-Cowan, candidate in Meteorology, McGill University for outstanding academic achievement and to assist in pursuing ensemble forecasting research in a Ph. D. program.

CMOS Undergraduate Scholarships


CMOS Fellow Announced

Morley K Thomas

MSC Patterson Medal Winner

James D. Abraham

On May 23, 2002 at the 36th annual Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society awards luncheon, Marc Denis Everell, Assistant Deputy Minister MSC, presented the Patterson Distinguished Service Medal  award for 2001 to Jim Abraham, Director of the Meteorological Research Branch, Atmospheric and Climate Science Directorate.  This is MSC's most prestigious award which is  presented annually for distinguished service to meteorology in Canada.  Jim received this award in recognition of his many years of dedication to the science of meteorology and its application to weather forecasts and warnings in Canada.
Homepage / Page d'accueil